Skip to content

Success!

August 11, 2009

We had a fantastic time at the Minnesota Monthly Happy Hour last Friday! There were a lot of newcomers and a few regulars.

I was impressed that we had at least 5 groups of friends where one Minnesota ex-pat invited several of their old friends, totaling over 30 people. The happy hour is definitely a good excuse for old friends to get together. We all get so busy here in NYC – it can be hard to make time for those old high school buddies from days gone by. But it’s always good to see them.

Let’s see, I met a few people who used to work at Radio K during college, and I told them how jealous I was and that it was one of my biggest regrets about college. One woman had invited a whole slew of folks. Sam and Geoff (in town from Mpls for Radio Happy Hour!) were there, probably making last minute plans for the next afternoon’s show (how was it?!?). And a woman I met through twitter was there with a few old high school buddies and her Iowan husband. We accepted him regardless.

Another woman I met went to Smith College at the same time as 2 of my good friends, and she remembered them fondly. In fact, she had had dinner with another of my Smith friends the night before in San Francisco. And yes, this woman came directly to the happy hour from the airport. Gotta love that Minnesotan conviction!

A good time was had by all, and I can’t wait for next month! Maybe I’ll have time to make bars next time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

