Skip to content

February Happy Hour recap

February 10, 2010

Last Friday was another successful and fun Minnesota Monthly Happy Hour at Le Poisson Rouge. Some of my favorite aspects of the night included delicious bars made by Dawn. These bars contained more butter than any one person should consume at one time, but it sure made them scrumptious! I also enjoyed – as did many others, I’m sure – the Stoli Apple vodka promotion that was going on (at the Minneapple happy hour – cute, huh?), arranged by native Minneapolitan and Events Manager Collette Leonard. Two young ladies dressed in fancy corsets were passing out apple tart shots, and these had me just a little over my limit until my order of a grilled cheese sandwich and tater tots helped me regain a more comfortable buzz.

It was great to reconnect with Laurel, an old friend from high school, and Bess, a colleague of mine from my U of MN days. Bess and I were both pleasantly surprised to see each other, as neither of us knew the other lived in NYC (nor did she know that I was the organizer of the happy hour!). I was also excited to meet a Twitter friend, Tanya, who came all the way down from the far reaches of Connecticut where she attends a graduate program.

We had some old friends return to the happy hour, including the December Happy Hour Holiday Bake-Off winner, Anna (without lefse this time, but we welcomed her with open arms regardless)! I was also happy to see my old friends Fiona and Akil again, as well as regulars Alex, Ashley, Mishka, Sam O, Dustin and Ashleigh. And of course, February “Hot Dish” Anne was representing in full effect, with her green “I <MN> NY” t-shirt layered with a gauzy purple shirt (to represent Prince, or the Vikings, of course), always bringing her fashion sense to the happy hours!

Speaking of fabulous single people, I also had the chance to meet newcomer Grant, a native of Minneapolis who’s been living in NYC for quite a many years, who came to his first happy hour with his sister Pamela. He told me about a dating service he runs for gay men called Manmate, and it sounds like a fantastic service! Of course, I had to tell him that we’ve found most Minnesota men (including himself!) to be paired off already. Something about those wholesome midwestern roots or something. Still a mystery…

Anyway, it was another successful happy hour and a great night of connections, fun conversation and unbeatable camaraderie. Thanks to everyone who came out!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 3:09 pm

    Nora, it was great to see you, and I’m so glad I discovered your happy hour & this blog! I’ve got Akil to thank for that – I happened to see something about it through him on Facebook. Really fun to reconnect, and I’m looking forward to more events in the future.

Leave a Reply

