Skip to content

March Happy Hour recap

March 7, 2010

A good time was had by all at last Friday’s Minnesota Monthly Happy Hour at Le Poisson Rouge.  I was sad that I arrived pretty late to the party, but was so happy to run into 3 Minnesotans and Happy Hour regulars on my walk to LPR – Mishka, Tara and Bryan – even though they had already left the happy hour.  Once I got to the bar, I had plenty of old friends to catch up with and lots of new friends to meet.

I was greeted immediately by returning happy hour attendees Jill Carr and February Hot Dish, Anne.  These ladies were already having a great time mingling with many fellow Minnesotans.  I met Scott Alexander from Mendota Heights, who is a musician living in Brooklyn who gives away cookies at his shows.  I also met Soraya and her brother, who hail from Woodbury and made it to their first happy hour.

It was great to see Fiona, this month’s “Hot Dish.”   My old friend, Akil, and his fellow math teacher Minnesotan and band mate, Nate, made it out to their 3rd consecutive happy hour.  Akil and Nate’s new band, The Workshop Model, has their first show at Public Assembly this Wednesday.

Catching up with Sam Osterhout, Stephanie Davila and Dustin Luke Nelson got me totally pumped for the next Radio Happy Hour, coming up this Saturday at 1pm at LPR.  As soon as the show ends each month, I’m ready for the next one.

Lauren and Julia, some fellow St. Paul-ites, put in a plug for Free Energy, a band comprised of former Hockey Night and Superhopper members.  Free Energy has 2 shows in NYC this week well worth checking out.

Thanks to everyone who made it out!  I hope you enjoyed the bars I made.  See you again real soon – maybe at one of the many MN events coming up this week around town.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

