Skip to content

Announcing my triumphant return to the motherland

July 5, 2010

Friends, it was inevitable.  I started this group for Minnesotans living in NYC, and realized through meeting such amazing and fabulous fellow Minnesotans that home really is where the heart is.  And so I am returning to Minnesota at the end of August after 10 years of trying my hand at living on both coasts (I lived in Seattle for 6 years).  This fall, I’ll be attending the Humphrey Institute at the good ol’ U of M (my alma mater) to earn my Masters in Public Policy.  And I’ll be living somewhere in Minneapolis, carving out an urban lifestyle for myself.  I couldn’t be more excited to go back home to the state I love and be close to the family and old friends very dear to my heart!

But never fear – this group and blog will live on for all you proud Minnesotans living in NYC!  Good friends Mishka and Tara, who I met at the first ever MN Monthly Happy Hour, have already taken over the happy hours by planning and hosting the 2 “summer camp style” happy hours of the last 2 months.  Infusing their own style and charm already, Mishka prepares fun trivia questions for each event and both ladies create the friendly and welcoming atmosphere us Minnesotans are known for.  It’s been awesome so far, and the happy hours will clearly benefit from their friendly hosting skills.

Your Fabulous MN Monthly Hosts, Mishka and Tara

And this blog will live on, as well, with talented writer and proud Minnesotan Jay Ackley taking the reigns.  Jay happens to have provided his Minnesota state flag to the summer camp MN Monthly Happy Hours, pictured above.  Jay currently blogs about music and culture over at www.jayackley.com, and will happily be contributing his writing talents to this blog where he can represent his Minnesota pride regularly.

Jay is also a musician, and he wrote this fantastic anthem for a new republic of MN, Northstar.  Check it out in his video, and look for his first blog post soon…

This group has been more fun and fulfilling than I ever could have imagined, thanks to all the wonderful people I’ve met and befriended over the last year and a half.  It will be so hard to part with all the friends I’ve made.  But home calls, and the good news is we all hail from the same place – I may get to see many of you back on the homefront soon enough (read: keep in touch!).

And of course, there’s the next MN Monthly Happy Hour on Friday, August 6th.  It will be my last happy hour, so let’s make it a great one!  I hope to see all your friendly faces there.  Location TBD.

It’s been amazing, friends!

xoxo,
Nora

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 12:55 pm

    Nora, you will be missed.

  2. July 8, 2010 7:10 am

    The MN flag is kinda racist when you think the farmer is probably yelling at the Indian to get off his lawn.

    • jayackley permalink*
      July 14, 2010 2:24 pm

      It is absolutely a racist flag – that’s why the good citizenry of Minnesota have been trying to replace it with this alternate version since the 1980’s: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_Star_Flag

      The legislature seems to be bizarrely attached to the generic seal on the blue background though, sigh…

Leave a Reply

