Skip to content

Announcing my Triumphant Beginnings as a Minneapple Blogger

July 8, 2010

Last week, after the July Minneapple in the Big Apple happy hour, I came home having confirmed that I would be inheriting this blog. I promptly sat down with my trusty laptop and churned out an introductory post that ran way too many pages and waxed poetic about my upbringing in South Minneapolis  and my sundering from the Motherland at a tender age.

But this  isn’t a blog about me, this is first and foremost a blog for the Minnesotan and Upper-Midwestern community living in the New York City metropolitan area. To that end, I’ll be taking my stewardship of this domain seriously, and use it to perpetuate a space for Minnesota-related arts, culture, and community to thrive.

I look forward to working with Mishka and Tara to promote and coordinate monthly happy-hours in NYC bars for our ex-pat community of drinkers; and to working with the MN Culture Club to promote Minnesota-based bands and artists coming through NYC.

I also hope to start a weekly or monthly (depending on interest) blog series in which I’ll solicit brief web-essays from fellow Minnesotans in NYC on a variety of midwest-related topics. I hope you will all consider contributing and indulge me in my overabundant love for all-things Minnesota.

On that note, I’ll sign off for now, I’ll plan on writing at a minimum of once a week, and will definitely do more so if feedback is forthcoming.

Time to go order myself an I <MN> BK shirt!

with love,
Jay

One Comment leave one →
  1. minneappleinthebigapple permalink*
    July 8, 2010 11:38 am

    Welcome to the crew, Jay!

Leave a Reply

