Skip to content

Minneapolis: City of Literacy and Tolerance

January 19, 2011

Good Morning Minnesotans!

There are a number of things that have been accumulating in my ‘Minnesotan Topics to Share with My Favorite New Yorkers’ list and I’m going to regurgitate them all for you now!

Item Number One: Minnesota is Number One (for tolerance and LGBTQ awesomeness)!

According to The Advocate Minneapolis is the number one city in North America to support queer relationships and provide community for ‘not-straight’ individuals. Which makes me pleased as punch! Despite not being on the forefront of marriage equality legislation, MN gets kudos for our tolerance! They go on to say:

Over the past decade, Minneapolis has become the gay magnet city of the Midwest. It makes sense: People here are no-nonsense, practical, and don’t deal well with hypocrites. This is where the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America took a historic leap forward and voted to accept gay and lesbian pastors, including the Reverend Mary Albing, the denomination’s first openly lesbian pastor.

So hooray for Minnesotan decency!

Item Number Two: Minnesota is Number Three (in Literacy)!

At least according to Central Connecticut State University! They don’t provide much (any?) analysis, but I’m sure glad that I know how to read! And more relevantly that I come from a place that takes the education of its population seriously. As many problems as I had growing up with the public education system in Minneapolis – I had some teachers that really inspired me, and it’s wonderful to know that we’re outperforming most of the rest of the country! (does anyone have any plan for how we could make Seattle and DC somehow less literate?)

 

Items Number Three Through Six: Minnesota Grab-Bag!

And lastly, because I love you (and like, 6 different Minnesotans sent this on to me):

Come out to Recoup Lounge at 210 Rivington street to hear me sing the NorthStar Anthem this evening!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

